This One Girl…

I do not usually post more than once a day, but this was just too good to not share. This experience just happened to me. I hope you find it as entertaining as I did.

—-

I was sitting at my desk, organizing a stack of magazines and journals to be shelved on the third floor, when the office phone began to ring. With my boss away from his desk, I took it upon myself to answer.

“Chan Shun Centennial Library, how may I help you?” I answered in my most business-like tone.

The voice on the other end was hesitant. “Um…hey…is this the library?”

No, this is Barney’s Pizza Palace. Duh! I didn’t say this was the library just for kicks!

“Yes, this is the library,” I replied, rolling my eyes. “How may I help you?”

“Um…I was wondering if you could tell me the name of this one girl…she works there.”

That’s a lot of help.

“I’m sorry, but could you be a little more specific? There are many girls who work here.”

“Well, um, she’s African American and…”

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no saint. I have always had trouble being patient with people who take too long to get their words out, and by this point I was kinda frustrated. I was also becoming a bit suspicious.

“I’m sorry, sir, but may I ask why you need to know the name of this girl?” I asked, trying to be polite but reserved.

“Well, I kinda like her and…”

I knew it. Something about the fact that he called the library instead of asking whoever-it-was personally just crossed me wrong.

“I’m sorry, sir, but your best bet is to come back tomorrow and talk to her. I’m afraid I don’t know who you’re talking about.”

He replied with, “Oh, okay,” and hung up before I could get in my, “Have a nice evening.”

I stared at the reciever for a moment, then shook my head and hung up. Oh, boy. Now that was something I hadn’t been prepared for.

4 thoughts on “This One Girl…

  1. OMG. Me, Aurora, and Edana read this out loud. It was ridiculously funny. I really don’t know what to say, but I can just imagine you staring at the reciever with a funny look on your face. Ah, Lyn, we love you!

  2. Wow that just made my day. I think that has to be record: how desperate can one guy get to call the library looking for “this one girl.” Thank you for bring laughter into my evening Lyn. =)

  3. Oh my dear Lyn this is to hilarious for words. You made my night with this story. Oh goodness I can picture the whole thing and it makes me laugh so hard. I’m sadly unsurprised by this situation. Guys are becoming. . . more and more. Thank you for sharing this. Aurora, Leisel, and I couldn’t stop laughing. Thanks again.

  4. It reminds me of when my daughter was in college at Southwestern, but living with us in the village. A young man called our phone at 12:30 a.m. and asked for her. I barked back at him, “Do you know what time it is! Who is this?” He squeaked out his name. I told him to talk to her tomorrow during normal hours. I told her that he called the next morning, but I don’t think he ever called her again.

    Dads can be mean….

Leave a Reply

