What Were You Thinking?

I had a friend tell me once, “I’m not gonna lie, you’re kinda scary. I can never tell what you’re thinking.”

I was reminded of this when, this afternoon, a couple of friends were discussing I-don’t-know-what and had become comically animated, which caused me to start laughing. The next thing I knew, one of them asked, “What were you thinking?”

To be honest, my friends give me too much credit. They actually believe that I’m thinking all the time. The truth of the matter, however, is that I think less than people realize. After all, there’s a reason one of my favorite quotes is, “Lord, keep your arm around my shoulder and your hand over my mouth.”

Among my many quirks, thinking is not often one of them. Or, rather, I’m prone to thinking after I’ve said or done something, which often results in a bit of face-palming on my part. Then everyone wonders why I don’t like to be in large groups of people.

Many people spend too much time wondering what I’m thinking. Whenever I’m not talking or joking around with a friend, I am usually sitting there with a serious, stone-cold stare. I don’t mean to do that. Honest. However, it is an expression I have developed as a means of defense. After all, it would be dangerous to sit around like a space cadet. This stone cold stare often tricks people, making them believe that I’m either angry or thinking of something painfully serious.

However, I can recall a handful of times where this has happened and, in reality, my thoughts were more along the lines of, “He really likes nuts (the food). Maybe that’s why he’s friends with me,” and, “Squirrel!”.

Being a person of extremes, there is always the flip-side to the coin. Sometimes, I think too much, such as the time that I went hiking with a group of friends and I was so engrossed in the story in my head that I failed to realize we had been passed at least ten times.

Some of my family and friends have expressed great concern over this. I’ve been told, for instance, that I will get kidnapped some day because of my thinking (or lack there-of). But not to worry. While I’m driving or when I’m walking alone is about the only time you can guarantee I’m thinking. If there is even the chance I could be in danger, I am quite alert. But if I’m with a friend or family member…well, you get the point.

So if you chance to see me (or people like me) with a serious expression, worry not. It’s not likely that I’m thinking about getting revenge on you or anybody else, for that matter. I’m probably just thinking about stories or squirrels. Or, more than likely, I’m not really thinking at all.

One thought on “What Were You Thinking?

  1. SQUIRRELS! I found this quite informative. It makes a lot of sense. I’m glad you wrote this! Now that i know you are most likely thinking of squirrels or your stories I know what to say. . .

Leave a Reply

