The Wolf Den

Winter is quickly coming to town, and I have definitely noticed it. Having lived my entire life in Texas, I am naturally accustomed to warm weather. So, whenever winter comes or, for that matter, whenever the temperature drops below seventy, I immediately think of everything dark and cold. Thus, my next submission for my poetry class reflects a very…cold theme.

Inspired by the story of the mass buffalo slaughter in the late 1800’s, this poem deals specifically with the effects the slaughter probably had on the natural world. The important aspects of the actual poem are the strong syllables, (there’s supposed to be four), and the alliteration/assonance of each line. Note: the word “Tala”, found toward the middle of the poem, is a Native American name meaning “wolf”.

Obviously, I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone on this one, but I feel that I did very well none-the-less. I have forgotten what type of poem this is so, while I dig through my mountain of papers in search of the answer, I hope you enjoy reading my newest poem, “The Wolf Den”.

—–

The Wolf Den

A haunting howl spears heaven,
Echoing eerily in the winter ether.
The whispering wind wings it away
On pinions pale and perpetually frozen.
A she-wolf shies from shivering shadows,
Her home hewed to the barrow’s heart.
Silvered breath spirals skyward
From her mellow mate’s velvet maw.
Her lanky offspring lope longingly
Over hunting haunts now hopelessly barren.
The scent of smoke lies solemn
Like a grey gown over great trees
Now hewed down as hailed heroes
Of times told in ancient tales.
The strange smell of burnt sulfur
Taunts the timid grey Tala,
The furtive friend of the forest folk.
It is the hated hint of hell’s thunder,
That threw her thin yearling
To the sallow, snow-strewn field
Where bellowing buffalo once bade
The famished wolves to find feasting.
But now the fields find frozen
Corpses of the cruel men’s craft,
Strewn under solemn snow,
Barrows for bones and bleeding hearts,
Priceless pawns of people’s hate.

Leave a Reply

