The Obsession Chapters

obsession

I’ve been writing full-length books for about 7 years now, and over the course of those 7 years I have discovered something about myself: I obsess over the last few chapters of each book I write.

Writing has been a passion of mine for a long time and it is not uncommon for me to sit down and write feverishly for hours on end. But when I get to the last few chapters of a book, I go into full obsession mode where all I want to do is write. I’m not sure if it’s just me or if other writers do this same thing, but when I get to the last few chapters of a book, I can think only of the story. I don’t want to eat, I don’t want to sleep, I don’t want to even move away from my writing medium, and I certainly don’t want to go to class or work on homework…which is the dilemma I now face.

During the summer or when in the middle of a semester, hitting what I call “the obsession chapters” is not a big deal to me. The average workload is manageable and I typically have enough time and energy to devote to my writing. But as I begin to tackle the last 5 chapters of Prism World, I find I do not have as much free time available as I have had for past books. And so I carry around my “Notebook of Randomness”, (more on that later), and write as if my life depended on it during every opportunity, no matter how small.

My desire to complete the obsession chapters in this project, however, is made worse by the fact that I absolutely love this story. I have put more research and effort into this book than I have put into anything else I’ve written. I’ll be sad to see the story end, and I confess I’ve already started making plans for some after-the-fact short stories, but I can’t wait to see how it turns out. Because, after all, no matter how much an author plans the story, there’s still no telling where it will end up.

So far, I’m at about 71,000 words and counting, and with finals coming up and events I’ve been asked to go to, finishing the book will be no small task.

They say that true writers don’t write simply because they want to; they write because they can’t stop doing it.

So here’s to all the true writers out there, and in the mean time we’ll see whether real life or the obsession chapters win out in the end.

2 thoughts on “The Obsession Chapters

  1. Yeah, I call that being “in the zone.” It’s a good and a bad thing. Good because you can see your work so much more clearly, bad for those around you that have to live with you during this time. These are the moods when I want to barricade myself in my office and live off crackers and mouldy cheese.

    But as an artist, I live for these moments. For me, there is no better moment when you have crystal clarity of what you are trying to produce. And I, also, take advantage of these moments regardless of what else is going on in my life at the time, mainly because these moments of clarity are so rare.

    I look forward to seeing your final masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

