Still Alive!: December Update

late

Where has time gone?! And here I thought I had just recently published a post.

Well, as an update for the reason behind my inactivity, life has gotten pretty hectic. No one ever told me that being a senior in college was going to be this tough. Of course, most people aren’t crazy like me either, so they don’t do full or even overloaded semesters, work part time, maintain multiple blogs, volunteer for multiple jobs in their church, faithfully attend a club, and still try to write on the side. Yeah, I don’t know why I do this to myself.

Honestly, school and work take up a large portion of my time, particularly since I am finishing Biblical Hebrew I and gearing up for Biblical Hebrew II next semester. However, that doesn’t mean I have stopped writing all together. Its just that most of my brainpower is drained by the time I get home.

In regards to creative works, there are several projects I have been working on. The most important of these projects is my “honors thesis.” I am forever grateful to the people who decided to finally allow honors students to do creative projects instead of 30-page research papers only, so in order to complete the requirements to graduate with honors, I have gotten approval to work on the first three chapters of a book I have entitled Willy’s Covenant.

Willy’s Covenant is a story that centers around one of my ancestors, a man named William Gilliland, who was a Scottish Covenanter and who is said to have fought the king’s army at the Battle of Bothwell Bridge in 1679. Of course, actual documents on my ancestor are slim. My very relationship to him is based more on hearsay than anything else, but the story fascinated me so I chose this legend as the basis for my book. The story itself was inspired by a ballad written about “Willy” in Lays of the Western Gael: and Other Poems, which was written by Sir Samuel Ferguson and published in 1888. Needless to say, research for this book has taken up a good deal of my creative energy, not the least of which because the success of this project will determine whether or not I graduate with honors.

Aside from Willy’s Covenant, there are still other projects I have been working on. For instance, I am still working on Remnant Moon, the sequel to Prism World. In order to get a better grasp of the main character, I have recently been writing flashbacks to his past, which may or may not end up in the book itself. I’m still debating that one.

Another project I have been working on is one I have been putting together with my writing club, the Rough Writers. Over the course of this semester, we have been working on worldbuilding, putting together a common world which we will collectively use to write short stories and possibly even novels. The project was inspired by The Drifting Isle Chronicles, a collection of stories written by different people about different characters and places but all based within the same universe. I have taken it upon myself to compile and maintain the information for my club’s project, so that has taken up a great deal of time as well. Our plan is to have enough information in place that we can start writing our short stories next semester, so more information on that later.

The last and, granted, most unimportant of the writing projects I have been involved in recently is a little fanfiction based on the videogame The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. The story centers around my five game characters and the two my brother has created. I do most of the work, my brother gives me input. Obviously not that important, but it’s great for when I have writer’s block, and I have fun discussing it with my brother. For those who may be interested in it, the story is called “Age of Heroes” by ithirian and it can be found on fanfiction.net.

Aside from that, there’s not much else to say right now. I am planning on posting one of the flashbacks for Remnant Moon later, but until then, forgive me for my inactivity and I hope you have a great day! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

