Next Step: Advertising

Prism World Insert

Among the many challenges of self-publishing, I think advertising is my greatest weakness. I’ve never been good at the self-promotion thing. Double that when it comes to selling stuff. However, unlike with an author who publishes through traditional means, as a self-publisher, the bulk of my success rides on my own shoulders. Now don’t get me wrong. Even people who publish traditionally have to do a lot of the promotional work. It’s just that, as a self-publisher, I don’t really have anything other than friends and family acting as support.

Speaking of family and friends, though, I can’t forget them, either. I honestly don’t think I would have come this far as a writer if it weren’t for my family and friends and, to be honest, I think they have done a better job of promoting my work than I have. A good example is the quote I have on the Prism World insert I put together to go in my upcoming book, The Four Stars. A while back, my friend, Sarah, who is one of the people I dedicated Prism World to, started playing an MMORPG (“Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game” for those of you who aren’t familiar with the term) with me, and eventually we both joined a guild. There was one girl in particular who my friend and I liked to talk to and, though I didn’t know about it until later, my friend told our guildmate about Prism World. Before I knew it, that guildmate was not only telling other people in chat about the book, but she left that glowing review on Amazon for me, too. It entertained and thrilled me greatly that there was someone else who liked my work so much, and I had my friend, not myself, to thank for that. So yeah. You really can’t forget the blessing of friend-fans either. 😉

So here I am, putting together ads in my attempt to promote my books a little more. I think my Prism World ad turned out pretty good, but of course I’m always open to feedback. And I think it’s probably safe in saying you’ll be seeing quite a few updates over the course of the next few weeks. With each task completed, I get more excited about getting The Four Stars out for others to read.

Leave a Reply

