Confessions of a Graduated Writer

So…I had grand hopes for my blog when I first started writing here in the Spring of 2011. I was a young college freshman in the English program. I transitioned to the Writing Emphasis shortly after. It was great! I took poetry classes and narrative writing classes and seemed to find something funny about anything and everything that happened in my life. It seems, though, that the older I’ve gotten, the more out-of-touch I’ve become with that side of me. This is probably evidenced by the long periods of total desertion here on my blog.

I’m trying to get out of that slump now, but let me tell you: it’s hard. Currently I am working as a dean at a boarding school for kids whose ages range from 13-19. I have 54 teenage girls that I take care of, and my longest shifts run at 17 hours straight, sometimes 2 days in a row. I love it here. I love working with the girls and I’m excited because I will be subbing for some of the junior and senior English classes soon. But trust me when I say that despite how rewarding it is, it is also exceptionally exhausting, mentally rather than physically.

Recently my friend and fellow Rough Writers alumnus, Edana Ulf, started a YouTube series called “Let’s Write!”. This is a daily project with a writing prompt, a 15-minute countdown, and her own quick-write afterward. I’ve done the first one, and it was actually really fun and really challenging. So, with that being said, I’ve decided to try and do all of the “Let’s Write!” writing prompts on my days off as a way of keeping myself in touch with my writer’s spirit. (I’m still editing The Four Stars, but I’ve been working slow as molasses in January thanks to my mental drain.)

Edana’s first prompt is as follows:

“You are now the main character in the last book you read or story you are working on. What are you doing?”

Honestly, I haven’t read any story books in a while (most of what I have been reading recently have been religious books). However, for a couple weeks now I have been reading a visual novel (also known as an otome game) called Love Letters from Thief X, just for fun. (Yes, in some ways I’m still as bad as a teenage girl).

Because I wanted to share the story with one of my friends, I started transcribing it this last week. (I’ve typed about 45,000 words in the course of about 6 days). So when I read Edana’s prompt, “You are now the main character in the last book you read or story you are working on. What are you doing?”, I figured I would write about one of the Thief X characters. Not sure if what I wrote matches the goal of the prompt, but I had fun writing it, and it’s helping to get those creative juices flowing again.

So, with that, here’s my response to “Let’s Write – Ep. 1”.

“I will defeat you, foul Beardzilla!”

Takuto darted to the side at the sound of his friend, Hiro’s, words as their older friend, 17-year-old Atsumu, lunged toward the four younger boys.

“Initiating device synchronization!” 6-year-old Takuto declared, fiddling with his hand-held gaming device, a stern look on his young face.

“Hiro! Distract Beardzilla!” 9-year-old Riki commanded, taking on a heroic pose, the black jacket tied around his neck like a cape flapping back and forth as he moved “Kenshi! Shoot his lasers to keep them from hitting Takuto!”

“Rod’er!” 3-year-old Hiro piped back. “Beardzilla!!!”

The little boy latched onto one of Atsumu’s legs.

“Hahahaha!” Atsumu laughed exaggeratedly, tickling Hiro’s sides. “You will never defeat me!”

“Take this, Beardzilla!” 7-year-old Kenshi shouted, shooting a round of nerf darts at the older boy.

“You think these little bee stings will stop me?!” Atsumu grinned broadly behind his bushy beard. “Haha! I’ll stop you with my awesome laser beams of ultimate destruction!”

The whole time he was watching his friends wrestle around, Takuto was fiddling with his game device, his golden brown eyes narrowed in concentration. Then, all of a sudden, he shouted, “Synchronization complete! Targeting device is disabled! Attack now!”

“Aahh!” Atsumu exclaimed, making a booming sound. “I’ve shot myself! Noooo!”

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Graduated Writer

  1. Cut yourself some slack. RL after college is vastly different from student life, as you have obviously learned, and it takes a while to find your stride. The next hurdle will be when you get a family! But find out what works for you. And take baby steps. Glad you are not giving up on anything you can do to keep going. Rough Writers misses you; we were talking about you last night (yes, we moved to Tuesday!).

Leave a Reply

