2015 in Review

Well, 2015 has officially come and gone. My resolution for 2015 was to finish 5 books and, per usual, I came nowhere close. >.<

On the upside, while I didn’t manage to churn out 5 full-length novels, I will say that I think, overall, this was a very productive writing year for me.

I managed to finish and publish the 2nd edition of my medieval fantasy novel, The Four Stars, this year, roughly 66,000 words of it having been written in 2015. I still have the 2nd and 3rd books in the trilogy to write, so we’ll see how far I get with those this year.

NaNoWriMo saw the birth of a new novel, Infinite, which centers around a futuristic VRMMO. While I didn’t manage to hit the 50,000 word goal this year either, I did manage to come in at 28,387 words for the month of November.

Wrote several short stories this year to go with novels that I’ve been working on, including the Legend of the Stars story, “The Emerald Dragon,” coming in at 3,785, and 2 short stories centering around my Prism World series: “Viper and Mercy” (1,999 words) and “Viper’s Last Stand” (1,948 words).

Like last year, a fair amount of my writing energy this year has also gone into my fanfictions, totalling 51,709 words for 2015.

Finished the year with 24 posts here on my blog, as well, which totals 7 more posts than last year, so…yay me! ^-^

Overall, I ended my 2015 with 153,828+ words, over 25,000 words more than 2014, and I aim to do just as good, if not better, in this new year of 2016.

Now for my New Year’s resolution…

Well, I’m not resolving to write 5 books this year. It became very apparent very quickly that that was unreasonable. I do, however, aim to publish another book this year. I have a lot of possibilities (making up my mind is so difficult), but I’m aiming to publish Infinite as my project for this year. Other options, though, are Remnant Moon (Book 2 of the Prism World series), The Secret of Erris (Book 2 of The Star Trilogy), Black Widow, and Sentinel. I also aim to finish my main fanfiction this year, too.

And there you have it, my official 2015 summary. If you’re interested in statistics, here are a few extra numbers you can feel free to take a look at. And in the meantime, Happy New Year from Lyn Gilleland!


 

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 890 times in 2015. If it were a cable car, it would take about 15 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

One thought on “2015 in Review

Leave a Reply

