Freelance Writing for Beginners

Job opportunities for freelance work from home

Currently listening to “The World Is Mine” by Supercell & Hatsune Miku. (Because I’m on a Japanese/anime music craze right now. Lol! >.<)

So, here’s day 2 of my goal to write at least 300 words every day. (Yay for progress! ^-^)

Yesterday I mentioned that I’ve recently started doing some freelance writing on the side, so I thought I’d share what I’ve learned for those of you who are also interested in doing some freelance writing.

I got my start in freelance writing when I was searching for ways to earn a little extra money online, as my bills are big and my paycheck is…well…not so much. While searching, I came across an article by Kim Komando entitled “3 Legitimate Work-at-Home Online Jobs that Pay Big.” In it there was a list of possible online jobs, including some freelance websites.

I’ll admit, I’m a bit skeptical when it comes to most online job lists, since everything I’ve found before seems like a bunch of hoops for very little payoff. Kim Komando has proven to be a reliable source, however, as far as I can tell, so I gave some of her suggestions a try.

Freelance writing is actually not quite as complicated as I once thought it was, especially with the particular company I went with. Projects pay a fair price for the amount of time typically spent (the projects I’ve done so far range from 300-500 words apiece). I’m a fairly fast writer, so small projects of this nature aren’t especially worrisome, (I type between 3,000 and 4,000 words in an hour, so long as there’s little to no research involved and ideas are flowing well), and as such, I can earn, easily, $8 in an hour, which doesn’t sound like much until you realize that I’m starting out on one of the lower tiers of the payscale.

Could I make a living strictly off freelancing? Potentially, especially if I can establish myself with some good customers and move up the pay tiers. Have you ever done freelance writing before? I’m interested to know other people’s opinions on it.

Anyway, back to work now. Thanks for reading, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

3 thoughts on “Freelance Writing for Beginners

    1. I use WriterAccess. Most of the jobs I have taken have been informative articles, most likely for blogs, though that information is kept relatively confidential. If you do decide to start freelancing, I would suggest that you start with a small project on a topic you’re at least somewhat familiar with. Don’t be afraid to do projects that are beneath your skill level, too. The more you succeed at, the more your confidence and reputation will grow. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

